The sloshed galosh

3 Mar

Waterproof Tretorn ankle boot

It’s completely unfair. Men have such slim choices in footwear in comparison to women. I’ve had feedback from all sorts of guys asking for “waterproof dress boots” and rubber boots in something other than black, brown, and dark green. It’s dismal. It’s dismal until we start demanding differently.

Humans seem to be innately aware of the importance of footwear. It’s the base on which we stand! People notice your footwear and you notice theirs – I’ve even had homeless people check out my shoes, so what does that tell you? When I’m in clean and polished shoes, I feel great, when I’m in dirty, scuffed shoes, I hang my head. Somehow the more looked after the footwear, the higher the self-esteem, no matter where you come from or how much (you perceive) you’re worth.

Today I’ve thought about some things, read some stuff, and had conversations with shoe experts to bring you fellas some practical information about choices in waterproof footwear, caring for your footwear,  and sloshing through the wet and still cold season of late winter / early spring.

I spoke to Crissi Giamos, the Director of Public Relations at Town Shoes, about waterproof boots. Though we’re into a new buying season now, keep Crissi’s brand suggestions in mind for fall / winter 2011 and beyond: Sorels, Hush Puppies, and some rubber Diesel models.

Town Shoes carries good old rubber boots by Tretorn and Scotland’s Hunter that are great for cold winters and wet springs, though unfortunately not in any fun colours or patterns for the guys. I have a pair of quiet brown Tretorn rubber boots with plush interior and I think they’re great!

It seems that a guy has to sacrifice either fashion or practicality in footwear because fashionably practical seems an illusion. Then a friend of mine reminded me that Australian Blundstones are water-resistant, long-lasting, and hard-wearing. I’ve had a couple of pairs of Blunnies myself and was very pleased with them, though they are NOT good in snow – no tread. Blundstones go with lots of things from smart casual to weekend casual looks.

TIP–> Crissi suggests to leave a pair of shoes at the office so that you can remove your dirty, wet outdoor footwear and feel good in a clean, dry pair of indoor shoes.

Salt

Salt is corrosive and seems to eat leather footwear! To me, salt used on sidewalks and on roads to melt snow and ice is massively overdone here in Toronto. When I lived in Saskatchewan, they used sand for traction under feet and rubber which is a much nicer alternative to salt that gets into the water system and messes with the soil.

Anyway, Crissi suggests a commercial salt remover for salt stains, and gives the following four steps to keeping your footwear clean and long-lasting:

  1. Clean with a damp cloth (it’s sloppy out there, gang, so clean daily).                                                TIP–> keep a cloth near where keep your boots so cleaning is within easy reach
  2. Use a salt remover (some people suggest using diluted vinegar for cleaning salt stains, but Crissi says vinegar will dry out the leather).
  3. Spray with All Protector.
  4. Polish when necessary (from every few days to a couple of times a month if you can).

Rubber

I had a client in from Alberta last month complaining that he couldn’t find any galoshes to buy. He went to an old-school shoe store and had the proprietor dig in the stockroom for toe rubbers and eventually produced a pair thought to be from 1964.

For those of you who don’t know what a toe rubber or galosh is, it is a rubber covering for the  bottom part of your shoe to keep your footwear dry. Men wore these like crazy in the old days, but are scarcely seen anymore. I found this great site for toe rubbers and rubber shoe coverings to keep your footwear dry. As a more fashionable alternative, there are Scandinavian Swims, though according to their website, they do not ship outside of the EU.  However, Harry Rosen carries some styles during the fall and winter – here is an example of what they carried for fall / winter 2010.

Maintenance

Crissy says it’s clean, polish, and protect to keep a good-looking shoe or boot. I use an All Protector on my footwear which unto itself is a good general step in keeping your footwear in good shape, but sometimes we need to go further.

I really do in my footwear because I’m outside walking a lot. As we all know, there is nothing worse than a cold, wet foot, so I like to try to waterproof my footwear as much as I can. I have used a product called Dubbin from the Kiwi Outdoor line (made with silicone, giving a consistency like Vaseline) to waterproof my leather walking boots and it’s very effective, though use with caution: if you’re using on an other-than-black boot, it may darken the leather. Still, you might just want to use it around the part of the boot where the sole meets the leather to repel the water from this joining seam.

Another product I use to keep the leather of my footwear clean and supple so that it doesn’t crack, is a cream conditioner. I’ve had different versions of this cream cleaner and I’m happy with the results – I like to use it on smooth indoor and outdoor shoes to restore their moisture, spiff them up, and give a dull shine.

For those of you who opt for rubber boots, these are totally practical and low maintenance – they just need  a rinse! I like to give the outside of my boots a moment under the tub faucet and then dry them off before I go out – makes an enormous visual difference and I feel better in the clean boots.

Wet feet

Antonio Centeno, founder of A Tailored Suit, has an excellent article about waterproofing your footwear on the Art of Manliness website. When I spoke to Antonio, he stressed “using maintenance products consistently” to keep an outdoor shoe or boot in good condition – sounds familiar, doesn’t it?

Borrowing from his article, Antonio explains how to deal with footwear that is already wet:

  1. Remove excess water from the outside of the shoe using a dry rag or towel.
  2. Pull the moisture from the inside of the shoe with a crumpled newspaper or a small dry towel. The key here is to draw the moisture out, so every hour or so replace the moist paper with dry paper.  Depending on the extent of the soaking, this could take from 2 hours to 2 days. [I think cedar shoe trees might work here too, depending on how wet your shoes are, as they absorb moisture from the inside of our shoes.]
  3. Do not place the shoes near a heat source; let them dry slowly at room temperature.  If you heat them you will cause the moisture to leave too quickly and greatly increase the chance of the leather cracking.  Cracked leather cannot be fixed on a man’s shoe or boot.
  4. Once the shoes appear dry and no more moisture is being drawn out of the shoe, clean and condition with a leather balm or cream and finally polish normally.  Over the next week ensure you clean and polish after every wearing.

I hope all of this information helps, lads. I’m still trying to locate something cool AND waterproof for you to wear that doesn’t have to go over your shoes, but the designers just don’t seem to be doing them! If any of you find slick waterproof winter footwear, please do us all a favour and post the link here, and if not, talk to your local retailers and ask for what you want – you may have influence!

2 Responses to “The sloshed galosh”

  1. Leah Morrigan July 6, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Dubbin update from the MEC website:

    “Some oil-based treatments (Neatsfoot oil, saddle soap, dubbin) stretch leather, which compromises the stiffness and support of a boot. Leave these kinds of treatments for breaking in your baseball glove.”

    However, I doubt that applying Dubbin to the seam of the boot, as I suggest for waterproofing, would do harm.

    Either way, use your best judgement.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fall 2015: Time for a footwear check | In the Key of He - October 29, 2015

    […] The sloshed galosh […]

Leave a Reply

